About

Early Childhood Australia NSW is a volunteer run organisation promoting the voice for young children and supporting professionals working in the field of early childhood education. Members of the Executive come from different organisation representing community based, private centres, family day care, outside school hours care services, training organisations, consultants and universities.

To view the ECA NSW blog with our recent news and activities click here.

Branch Executive

Name Position Email
Carol Burgess President cburgess@csu.edu.au
Natalie Grenfell Vice President Natalie.Grenfell@bigpond.com
Rose Todd Treasurer rose.todd@hotmail.com
Ian Alchin Executive ianlalchin@gmail.com
Gabby Holden Executive gabby.holden@ku.com.au
Jan Langtry Executive jan@ectarc.com.au
Chris Legg Executive Chris.Legg@ku.com.au
Anita Jovanovski Executive AnitaJ@nswfdc.org.au
Marina Papic Executive mpapic@goodstart.org.au

Regional Representatives

Name Position Email
Amanda Holt Hunter Amanda.Holt@hnehealth.nsw.gov.au
Linda Windley Illawarra/South Coast linda@ectarc.com.au
Tracey Dooner New England tracey.dooner@tafensw.edu.au
Tracey Snow Riverina traceys@amyhurd.com.au
Katie Pennant Far North Coast ktbbrown@gmail.com
Rebecca Minter Mid North Coast director@kempseychildrenservice.com.au
Selma Wastell Central Coast selma.wastell@tafensw.edu.au
ECA NSW Office Manager Office@nsw.earlychildhood.org.au

Contact

e: office@nsw.earlychildhood.org.au

p: 0429 779 039

Branch Meetings

For 2018-2019 NSW Branch Dates—Click here to view the list.

Members are welcome to attend our Conversations nights. If you would like anything raised at the monthly meetings, contact an ECA executive or regional member.

Branch Constitution

ECA NSW Constitution May 2016

Committees with Branch Representation

The NSW Branch is involved in many committees and activities to achieve quality, social justice and equity in all issues relating to the education and care of children from birth to eight years. This includes:

  • Professional Experience Council
  • TAFE Industry Reference Group
  • ARACY NSW
  • NESA Curriculum committee
  • NSW Children’s Services Forum
  • ECE advisory group
  • NESA Teacher Accreditation
  • Community Services and Health ITAB—Children’s Services forum
  • Transition to school committee
  • NESA Creative Arts Board Curriculum

Reports

Far North Coast Conference Presentation

ECA’s Far North Coast branch held a conference on the 18th and 19th of March. Download a presentation on Developmental Delay here.

Lifting the Game

During the year ECA NSW held a Conversations Evening with Prof Deb Brennan following on the report she co-wrote called lifting the game.

This was a very good conversation. To view this session click on this link: https://bit.ly/2LR7qC4

Professional Experience Council

Members of The Early Childhood Professional Experience Council (New South Wales) view professional experience as an integral component of coherent early childhood professional preparation programs. Members are representatives from universities, Department of Education and Communities (including TAFE New South Wales), employing bodies, RTO’s and relevant organisations who are involved in planning and supporting early childhood professional preparation undertaken by students. The PEC works in association with ECA New South Wales Branch for the benefit of all stakeholders in early childhood education.  The purpose of the PEC is to bring together members who contribute to discussion about early childhood professional experience from diverse perspectives, and who work in collaboration to generate shared understandings and take appropriate action for the benefit of all those involved in early childhood professional experience.

Newsletters

2018 newsletters:
2017 newsletters:
2016 newsletters:
2015 newsletters:

Policies

Please find attached below a series of ECA NSW policies that you can download.