The National Board of Directors of Early Childhood Australia consists of:

  • A Director elected by each branch
  • National President
  • Deputy National President


The role of the National Board of Directors is:

  • the governance and long-term planning of the organisation
  • the implementation of the organisation’s strategic plan
  • to ensure that Early Childhood Australia meets its objectives and fulfils its mission to advocate for young children.

Members of the National Board of Directors carry the legal responsibility for governance of the organisation and are required to act in the best interests of the National Organisation.



National President Ms Chris Legg CEO, KU Children’s Services (NSW)
Deputy National President Mr Ian Alchin Services Development Manager, CCSA (NSW)
General Board Members Ms Maree Bredhauer NT Branch Manager  (NT)
Ms Jo Darbyshire Educational Practice Advisor, South Coast & West Region,
The Creche and Kindergarten Association Limited
Ms Janet Williams-Smith General Manager, Early Childhood at TRY Australia
Ms Kellie Watson Education & Care Consultant, Lady Gowrie, Tasmania (Tas)
Ms Wendy Gorman Coordinator of Early Childhood Programs
Association of Independent Schools of Western Australia (WA)
Dr Marina Papic NSW and ACT State Manager of Goodstart Early learning
Ms Italia Parletta Senior Lecturer, Children’s Education and Care TAFESA
Ms Jodie Ledbrook Head of Services, SDN Children’s Services
Geraldine Atkinson President, Victorian Aboriginal Education Association Incorporated