The ACT committee responds to national and local issues at regular meetings and in consultation with the membership. The ACT committee provides a voice to early childhood professionals and is committed to supporting and promoting best practice early childhood education. ECA members from ACT receive newsletters from our committee periodically with content provided by an early childhood professional or community member.

The Committee has membership from across all sectors of early childhood services and is keen to provide support for all persons who work in this area in Canberra. It also hopes to foster dialogue and interactions between workers to assist in the understanding of the range of services available to families.

Committee Executive

Chairperson Kylie Keane
General Member Rowena Muir
General Member Amie Arthur
General Member Dr Kate Highfield
General Member Michaeli Hillam
General Member Shane McAlphine
General Member Jantiena Batt
General Member Katie Fahy
General Member Tara Verma
General Member Sarah Wilcox
General Member Danielle Bopping
General Member Adam Darcey

Professional Development

Our committee provides professional development that is relevant to all sectors of early childhood education and care. This provides a valuable opportunity for gaining professional skills and knowledge and networking with colleagues.

Professional Networking Night
Professional learning sessions are facilitated twice a year. Please contact the committee for dates and times. These sessions are open to anyone who is interested and also showcase a local early childhood service.

Committee Meetings

Meetings provide an opportunity to discuss recent events, discuss and respond to relevant early childhood topics, network and catch up with colleagues.  Please contact the committee for further details.

Committees with Committee Representation

ACT Committee has representation on the ECA Publications Committee, TAFE Teachers Advisory Board, Professional Support Services, and Children’s Educators ACT.

Scholarships and Awards

The ACT committee has provided awards to both TAFE and university students. The committee has also sponsored the ACT Children’s Services Awards.


e: ecaact@earlychildhood.org.au

ECA ACT Committee
PO Box  86,
Deakin West,
ACT 2600